Wednesday, June 15, 2011

WIFE NIGHT: Sip & Swallow! What is your Love Language?

Saturday, June 11th we had our first WIFE NIGHT Support Group Gathering. We called the night Sip & Swallow and we had a ball! We (Teresa, Angela & I) taught about the 5 Love Languages. It's based on the book by Dr. Gary Chapman. When the night began, I was able to explain where the idea of WIFE came from and what my goals are for the organization. We then proceeded to all share a little bit about ourselves and a Hot & Spicy tip that makes our hubby smile. OMG! You had to be there for some of the things that were said! Greats tips! It should have been called tips & sips! I have more pictures, but I need to get them downloaded from my friend!

After all the tips we took a wine break and jumped right into the topic of the night, the 5 Love Languages. The WIVES took a quiz, which gave them a preview of what their love language would be and how it can effect their communication within their marriage.  What I loved about this night was the dialogue. The women that came shared, laughed, taught and just had a great time!

Below are a few comments I got on the facebook event page as well as a summary of the 5 Love Languages!

"Had a great time... Ill be sure to bring a guest next time"

"Bernetta you truly have an awesome creative gift. Continue to yield to the Lord and keep up the good work."

"I Really enjoyed my self at the very first W.I.F.E Gathering. I enjoyed hearing everyones hot and spicy tips, I can not wait for the next one!!"

"I had a ball!!! Thank you sooo much for inviting me!!!"

"I had a great time and took away a lot of tips! I look forward to your next event"

Love Language Quiz
• I feel especially loved when people express how grateful they are for me, and for the simple, everyday things I do. Words of Affirmation

• I feel especially loved when a person gives me undivided attention and spends time alone with me. Quality Time

• I feel especially loved by someone who brings me gifts and other tangible expressions of love. Receiving Gifts

• I feel especially loved when someone pitches in to help me, perhaps by running errands or taking on my household chores. Acts of Service

• I feel especially loved when a person expresses feelings for me through physical contact. Physical Touch

Explanation of Languages
Words of Affirmation - Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

Quality Time - In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.

Receiving Gifts - Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.

Acts of Service - Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

Physical Touch - This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

No comments: